From the Archives: Tully Falls Expedition

In September 1925 a group organised by Honourable E. G. Theodore took to the rugged land of North Queensland to explore the development potential of Tully/Kareeya Falls. A first-hand account of the arduous journey and subsequent observations was published by E. H. R. Greensill in the Townsville Daily Bulletin, 3 March, 1926. With the aid of three Aborigines, a group of twelve spent eight days traversing alongside rivers, up mountains, and through narrow gorges. Throughout his account, Greensill notes the loamy soil, the deep pools of water along the Tully River, and upwards of 55,000 acres well suited for farming and settlement. It surmised that because September a dry month and the considerable flow of water at the time of the visit, that Tully Falls had hydro-power potential. In addition to development potential, Greensill informs readers of dense patches of broadleaf stinging tree, a horse’s reaction to such, attempts at dodging ‘lawyer vines’, and nights spent telling tales around the campfire.

‘’Jungle and plain and pathless wood, Depths of primeval solitude. Gaunt wilderness and mountain stern, Their secrets lay all unsubdued.’’ –

Greensill

Ref: http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article60925784

Sarah Aldrich